Friday, April 1, 2011

Heard about a Book...

Here is ANOTHER series I have never read that has a new addition. The Kurt Wallander detective series by Swedish author Henning MankellThe Trouble Man is his latest in the series and possibly his last as Kurt Wallander retires...


On a winter day in 2008, Håkan von Enke, a retired high-ranking naval officer, vanishes during his daily walk in a forest near Stockholm. The investigation into his disappearance falls under the jurisdiction of the Stockholm police. It has nothing to do with Wallander—officially. But von Enke is his daughter’s future father-in-law. And so, with his inimitable disregard for normal procedure, Wallander is soon interfering in matters that are not his responsibility, making promises he won’t keep, telling lies when it suits him—and getting results. But the results hint at elaborate Cold War espionage activities that seem inextricably confounding, even to Wallander, who, in any case, is troubled in more personal ways as well. Negligent of his health, he’s become convinced that, having turned sixty, he is on the threshold of senility. Desperate to live up to the hope that a new granddaughter represents, he is continually haunted by his past. And looking toward the future with profound uncertainty, he will have no choice but to come face-to-face with his most intractable adversary: himself.

Here are the Kurt Wallander novels in the order that the novels occur in the time line of the series:

1. The Pyramid
2. Faceless Killers
3. The Dogs of Riga
4. The White Lioness
5. The Man Who Smiled
6. Sidetracked
7. The Fifth Woman
8. One Step Behind
9. Firewall
10. Before the Frost
11. The Grave
12. The Troubled Man